About Burris

  • Exterior of Burris Laboratory School


    Burris Laboratory School was established in 1929 as part of Teachers College, Ball State University, and Muncie Community Schools. Burris was named after Dr. Benjamin Burris, who was Dean of Ball State’s Teachers College when Burris was built. Burris is the only school in the Burris Laboratory School Corporation. It has the entire state of Indiana as its enrollment district. Burris does not have a school board. The Ball State University Board of Trustees is the ultimate authority for school policies.


    Burris Laboratory School fosters a culture of respect and trust where every student is challenged to pursue excellence by engaging in a well-rounded, technologically enhanced, rigorous curriculum in a safe and secure environment. As a model school, engaged in best-practice research and the preparation of highly effective educators, we collaborate with community partners to prepare students for success in an ever-changing world.


    We aspire to be a world-class community of scholars focused on developing responsible global citizens.

  • Additional Resources

  • Make a Gift to Burris

    Your contributions ensure that our unique educational opportunities continue to exist for all students at Burris.